What is the first ice cream made?

The earliest evidence of anything approaching ice cream being made was in China in the Tang period (618 to 907 AD.) Buffalo, cows' and goats' milk was heated and allowed to ferment. This 'yoghurt' was then mixed with flour for thickening, camphor for flavor, and 'refrigerated' before being served.