Are cottonmouth snakes?

A cottonmouth snake is a pit-viper. A close cousin of the rattlesnake. It is distinguished by having white inside of its mouth instead of the usual pink. The cottonmouth is often found in scrub near a lake or stream. It normally feeds on small rodents and birds that come to the water to drink.