Is manila a color?

No. The main element that makes up a Manila Envelope is Manila hemp. The Manila hemp is derived from a species of banana originally from the Philippines. The hemp is used during the paper making process, which gives it the buff, tan, or ochreous color with fibers usually visible to the naked eye.