How do you cook dry ginger?

Add dried, powdered ginger to stews, soups, curries, casseroles and other dishes. ... Use dried, sugared ginger pieces in baked or cooked desserts. ... Substitute dried ginger for fresh ginger by cooking the dried ginger pieces with a few tablespoons of water in a saucepan over low to medium heat.