What was the first message sent by morse code?

Sent by inventor Samuel F.B. Morse on May 24, 1844, over an experimental line from Washington, D.C., to Baltimore, the message said: "What hath God wrought?" Taken from the Bible, Numbers 23:23, the phrase had been suggested to Morse by Annie Ellsworth, the young daughter of a friend.