Is sandwich a hot dog?

According to Merriam-Webster, the word hot dog refers to either the sausage on its own, or the same sausage served inside a long-split roll. When it is served inside a roll, it is considered a sandwich. A sandwich is defined as two or more pieces of bread or a split roll having a filling between.