When were eight tracks invented?

The Stereo 8 Cartridge, or 8-track, was created in 1964 by a consortium led by Bill Lear, of Lear Jet Corporation, along with Ampex, Ford Motor Company, General Motors, Motorola, and RCA Victor Records (Radio Corporation of America).