What is the difference between milk and evaporated milk?

The difference between milk and evaporated is this: milk is as it comes from the cow, but pasteurized to kill bacteria. It is then sold whole or with fat reduced to 1 or 2%. Evaporated milk is milk from which approximately 60% of the water content has been removed so it is very thick and creamy.