How far can bluetooth go?

On the average bluetooth range about 10m or 30ft. It is a very low power transmission ideal for full time connection. Has good security like infra red wifi. Has a least enough transmission agree capability to handle many transmission and receiver duties include bit protocal but not like direct wifi.