What is the past tense of to pet?

The verb pet means touch affectionately. The past tense of pet is PETTED. BUT in your question "to pet" is an infinitive-NOT a verb. When "to" is followed by a verb, its called an infinitive - not a prepositional phrase. An infinitive is an UNCONJUGATED form of a verb; NO TENSES.