How do you know a cantaloupe is ripe?

The melon should feel heavier than it looks when and pick it up. The skin should be tan with a pale yellow color between the netting. The surface should be firm with a pleasant, sweet, musky aroma. If you don’t notice any smell, it’s likely not ripe. Stem area should be smooth and slightly concave.