What is the zimmerman telegram?

The sending of the Zimmermann telegram resulted in the U.S. entering WWI. In January 1917 Germany's Foreign Minister, Arthur Zimmermann, sent a coded note asking the Mexican government to declare war on the United States. It promised to help Mexico take back Texas, Arizona, and New Mexico.