What is a pine cone made out of?

Male pine cones develop from pine needles & rarely grow more than 2 inches in length.They form in clusters at the ends of the lower branches of pine trees.Male pine cones are herbaceous not made from wood & typically live for only a few months in spring or autumn,depending on the species of tree