Why are some eggs white and some brown?

The color of the egg is dependent upon the breed of chicken.

---

Generally speaking, brown eggs come from brown feathered hens, while white eggs usually come from hens with white feathers. There is always room in nature for exception to the rule. They taste the same. Brown eggs gained prominence when buyers decided that brown eggs had better care.