Why are the oscars called the oscars?

The Academy Awards ceremony got the name Oscars from the statuette that is presented. The statuette was originally unnamed. It is said that the statuette was named by Margaret Herrick, one-time executive director, who thought the statues resembled her Uncle Oscar.

---

The origin of the name “Oscar” for the Academy Awards statuette is disputed. Bette Davis claims she named the award after her first husband Harmon Oscar Nelson. Margaret Herrick, Academy executive secretary in 1931 claimed to have named the statuette after her cousin, Oscar Pierce.