Why are the oscars called the oscars?

The Academy Awards ceremony got the name Oscars from the statuette that is presented. The statuette was originally unnamed. It is said that the statuette was named by Margaret Herrick, one-time executive director, who thought the statues resembled her Uncle Oscar.