Where does fake vanilla flavoring come from?

Where does fake vanilla flavoring come from? 99% of the world's vanilla extract is fake imitation vanilla that's not a product of the plant itself. Instead, it's flavored primarily with synthetic vanillin (a lab-produced version of the same chemical compound that occurs naturally in real vanilla).