What's the difference of a m. and p. m.?

As we said above, AM stands for “ante meridiem” or before noon in Latin, so it is used to describe the first portion of the day – the first 12 hours. On the other hand, PM stands for “post meridiem” or after noon in Latin and it's used to describe the second portion of the day – the final 12 hours.