When did babylon exist?

Babylon was originally a small Akkadian town dating from the period of the Akkadian Empire c. 2300 BC.

---

It was founded around 2300 B.C. by the ancient Akkadian-speaking people of southern Mesopotamia. Babylon became a major military power under Amorite king Hammurabi, who ruled from 1792 to 1750 B.C.