When was the spanish armada defeated?

On May 28, 1588, the Spanish Armada set sail from Lisbon and headed for the English Channel. The turning point in the battle occurred on July 29, when the English sent 8 burning ships into their midst. The English ships chased them to Scotland. A remnant of the fleet returned to Spain in October.