What year did the world cup begin in?

The first official World Cup was played in Uruguay in 1930.

---

On July 13, 1930, France defeats Mexico 4-1 and the United States defeats Belgium 3-0 in the first-ever World Cup football matches, played simultaneously in host city Montevideo, Uruguay.