What is the sheriff department?

The sheriffs department enforces the law at the county level. Sheriffs patrol and apprehend persons who are a threat to peace and order. The sheriffs department answers and responds to emergency calls, has courtroom duties and is in charge of directing and monitoring traffic in their county.