Why was socrates executed?

At trial in 399 B.C.E. Socrates was found guilty of both corrupting the minds of the youth of Athens and of impiety, meaning he did not believing in the gods of the Greek state. His punishment was execution.

---

Socrates was accused of impiety and corrupting the youth of Athens by introducing new gods and refusing to acknowledge the old gods. His punishment was death by hemlock poisoning.