Do you store potatoes in the refrigerator?

According to foodrepublic.com, potatoes should not be stored in the fridge. Cooler temperatures can turn starch into sugar which can go bad, causing a bitter taste or green spots. Instead, store potatoes in a dark dry place above 50 degrees.

---

Uncooked potatoes are best kept somewhere cool and dry, but don't keep them in the fridge. Putting potatoes in the fridge can increase the amount of sugar they contain, and lead to higher levels of a chemical called acrylamide when the potatoes are baked, fried or roasted at high temperatures.