Do you store potatoes in the refrigerator?

According to foodrepublic.com, potatoes should not be stored in the fridge. Cooler temperatures can turn starch into sugar which can go bad, causing a bitter taste or green spots. Instead, store potatoes in a dark dry place above 50 degrees.