What state is m. c.?

Michigan is normally MI, but the USCG for Michigan is M.C.

---

NC is North Carolina. The post office does not use MC as an abbreviation for any state, but the U.S. Coast Guard uses MC for Michigan in its two-letter prefixes for vessels.