What's the law of attachment?

Attachment is a legal term referring to the action of seizing property in anticipation of a favorable ruling for a plaintiff who claims to be owed money by the defendant. Attachment is a preliminary procedure; the seizure may prove unwarranted if the court rules in favor of the defendant.