How do you know if apricots are ripe?

When the fruit has turned a golden, orange colour, has a strong, sweet smell, and is firm but has a bit of give when gently squeezed. If the apricots feel like rocks or are still greenish, let them continue to ripen on the tree.

---

Apricots that are ripe have a deep orange-gold color rather than those that are pale orange or yellow. They should be plump and firm, with just a little softness to them.