What year did the u. s. go to war with japan?

The U. S. declared war on Japan December 8, 1941. On December 7, 1941, Japanese bombers staged a surprise attack on U.S. military and naval forces in Hawaii. The day after the attack, before a joint session of Congress, President Roosevelt asked Congress for a declaration of war against Japan.