Why are pork chops called pork chops?

Chop is simply the pork word for steak and all chops come from the loin muscle, which runs from a hog's shoulder to the hip. The top of the muscle is more tender than the bottom. Now those chops will get names reminiscent of the cuts used to describe steaks that consumers are already familiar with.