Can dogs digest bones?

The gastric acidity (gastric PH) of the stomach of a dog eating a diet predominantly made up of raw meat is very low (very acidic), with a PH of 2 or lower relative to the level of meat. This highly acidic environment favours the breakdown of raw meats, and raw bones, into soft digestible material.

---

Yes, they can digest bones. A better question is should they be fed bones? If the bone has been cooked the answer is no. Cooked bones become brittle and are hazardous to the digestive tract and the dog. Raw bones should be no smaller than the size of the dog's head and only allowed when supervised.