Why do dogs lean on you?

If you give your dog any kind of attention when it leans, it will lean on you whenever it wants attention. In some cases, leaning can be a sign of fear or insecurity. Dogs cower or hide behind people when they are in fear, but that dog usually exhibits other signs of fear in addition to leaning.