What is the difference between a possum and an opossum?

There is no difference. Both "possum" and "opossum" correctly refer to the Virginia opossum (Didelphis virginiana) a marsupial mammal seen throughout North America. In common use, "possum" is the usual term; in technical or scientific contexts "o possum: is preferred.