Why was doctor seuss banned?

Doctor Seuss was not banned. Six of his books were voluntarily removed from the market by their publisher, allegedly for containing imagery or language which--while acceptable when they were written--, might, from a modern perspective, be considered racially or ethnically insensitive by some people.