When did the first simpson episode air?

December 17, 1989 The Simpsons. The Simpsons is an animated sitcom that first aired on December 17, 1989 and continues to air to this day, making it the longest running non-news U.S. primetime series ever.

---

The Simpsons was first seen on TV screens December 17, 1989. As of June 2020, 31 seasons, 684 episodes of The Simpsons have been televised, making it the longest-running sitcom in the U.S.. The 32nd season airs September 27, 2020. Sources: iMDB and Wikipedia.