What is colic in a horse?

Colic is the leading medical cause of death in horses. Colic refers to pain in a horse’s abdomen. While colic can include a simple blockage, a spasm in the colon, gas buildup, or torsions (twists in the intestines) in the digestive tract, most are of unknown origin.” Freedom Health 2020