What is deer velvet?

From WebMD. Deer velvet is a traditional Chinese medicine treatment. Other names for it include velvet antler and antler velvet. It is made from immature deer antlers, which are covered in velvet-like hair.

---

Deer velvet is the covering over the growing antlers that male deer, elk, caribou, and moose have. The velvet has blood veins in it that feeds the growing antlers. It eventually hardens in the fall, and the animals scrape it of during mating season.