When did the movie star wars?

The original Star Wars movie, which we now know as "Episode IV: A New Beginning," was released in 1977.

---

The epic movie, "Star Wars", was released in the US on May 25, 1977. It was the first film in the Star Wars series, and the fourth chronological chapter of the "Skywalker Saga". It has been retroactively titled "Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope."