Who wrote the song house of the rising sun?

The House of the Rising Sun is believed to be derived from a folk song from the early 1700's, though there is no clear evidence or proof of the author. The most popular version of the song was written by the Animals and released in 1964. The song became the #1 hit on Billboard's top 100 in 1964