What caused world war two end?

World War II ended in Europe on May 8, 1945 after the allied forces defeated the German Reich and Hitler committed suicide. It ended in Japan on September 2, 1945 after the US dropped nukes on Hiroshima and Nagasaki and General MacArthur accepted the Japanese surrender.