How does a chicken make an egg?

The egg is formed in the reproductive tract of a hen. It begins with the yolk, which is then fertilized. Then the albumin, the white, is added around the yolk, and membranes which will harden into the shell form around both. When the shell has hardened, the chicken lays the egg.