What is broad cloth?

Broadcloth is a tightly-woven fabric that popular for its smoothness and plain weave. It is also known as Poplin to the British. It is a dense, tightly-woven fabric that is sturdy yet soft to the touch. Broadcloth was woven on broad looms similar to present-day 45 to 60 inch wide looms.