Is ben roethlisberger out for the year?

Yes, Big Ben is out for the year after suffering an elbow injury. Roethlisberger was lost to a season-ending elbow injury but luckily he'll avoid the dreaded Tommy John surgery, a procedure that would have put his availability for next season in jeopardy.