What's the difference between basmati and jasmine rice?

Both jasmine and basmati rice are long-grain rice types. However, jasmine rice is slightly shorter and rounder as compared to basmati which is very long, slender, and needle-shaped. The grains of basmati elongate to almost twice their size after being cooked. They also become softer and fluffier.

---

According to BiteMyBun.com, Basmati rice grains get two times larger once cooked & stay separated, giving it a dryer, more fluffy texture. Jasmine rice becomes moist & clumps together slightly, giving it a soft, more sticky texture. Each type of rice comes in both white and whole-grain varieties.