Why is it cold indian summer?

The exact origins are uncertain, it was perhaps so-called, because it was first noted in regions inhabited by Native Americans ("Indians"), or because the Native Americans first described it to Europeans, or it had been based on the warm and hazy conditions in autumn, when Native Americans hunted.