What stage of sleep do you dream in?

Sleep is divided into 2 major stages: non-REM, followed by REM (rapid eye movement). Dreams typically happen during REM sleep. A non-REM and REM cycle takes about 90 minutes, before repeating. REM stages last about 10 minutes (the first) to 60 (last). An adult spends about 20% of its sleep dreaming.