Where is ancient mesopotamia?

Mesopotamia was an ancient region located in the eastern Mediterranean bounded in the northeast by the Zagros Mountains and in the southeast by the Arabian Plateau, corresponding to today's Iraq, mostly, but also parts of modern-day Iran, Syria and Turkey.

---

Mesopotamia was in the area now called Iraq, north of the Persian Gulf, and around the rivers Euphrates and Tigris. The word "Mesopotamia" comes from ancient Greek words meaning "between two rivers".