What's a play gummy bears?

One of the main reasons we should avoid feeding gummy bears and other candies to our dogs is that some of them contain xylitol- the artificial sweetener that is safe for humans but highly toxic to dogs. The toxicity is dose-dependent and even small amounts can be fatal, especially to small dogs.