Does basil like sun or shade?

Basil needs a warm and sunny spot to thrive.Six to eight hours of direct sunlight is perfect,though if you live in a really hot climate,you may want to give your basil some afternoon shade.For basil to take off,the soil & air need to be fairly warm,so don't rush putting out your plants in the spring