What is the proper angle to sharpen a knife?

The 17 to 22 degrees angle is the typical sharpening angle for most standard kitchen knives. Some knives, especially the Japanese manufactured ones, sharpened at the recommended 17 degrees. On the other hand, Western-style kitchen knives' favorite sharpening angle is about 20 degrees.