Why is it called jerk chicken?

The word jerk reportedly stems from the Spanish charqui, meaning dried strips of meat similar to the modern-day jerky. The cuisine had its origins with the Taino, who developed the jerk method and later taught it to African slaves, who in turn adapted it in creating jerk chicken.