Why is it called a piggyback?

It started out in the sixteenth century as pick pack, carrying something on the back or shoulders. Pick is a medieval version of pitch, so it meant a load that was pitched on to a person's back. Eventually, the insertion of the “a” caused the way for “pick pack” to become “piggyback”.